Main Menu

Gamers take note

Started by morwen, Sep 02, 2014, 08:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Finally someone said it!

Garage Trashcan

Gross overgeneralizations?

Game journalism being corrupt?

Last time I checked, all forms of journalism were corrupt.

It is so incredibly disappointing that the minority and the "bro gamers" have given us such a negative image. As they say, whomever yells the loudest gets the most attention. People don't care that the "average" gamer isn't a caffeine-pumping 14-year-old; it's a late-twenties/early-thirties, politically-informed, full-time job, productive member of society, just like everyone else.

They don't get attention because they don't scream.
Torsten Solberg - Jovial Jotunkind
Halonya Gabranth - Paladin of Hoar
Alethra Duskmantle - Spoiled Socialite
Retired PCs: Felix Greentrack, Nikolai Mikhailovich

Valimar Dragonbane

Yeah, that's pretty typical "journalism" there.  Idiots and mouth-breathers, the lot of them.
Yes, I am an agent of Satan, but my duties are largely ceremonial.

A diplomat... is a person who can tell you to go to hell in such a way that you actually look forward to the trip. - Caskie Stinnett

Adventure is just bad planning. - Roald Amundsen

Glad we can say we're more so than.  By Leaps and bounds.  

Darvins

When even Will Wheaton is saying he's ashamed to be a Gamer you know a fortnight was bad, really bad. This fortnight has been depressing on that front. On the plus side I think it's because this is reaching critical mass, the market is changing and that change is now irreversable that is what makes them so nasty, that last desperate throw of the dice, but it's doomed to fail.