Main Menu

Teleport/Revive Tokens

Started by , Jun 27, 2015, 01:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valimar Dragonbane

Yeah, that teleport stone is abused.  Should it cost the lowbies coin?  I don't think it should.

The whole raise dead thing?  I feel like that's been beat to death in the 10+ years this game has been around.  Would enforcing some sort of mechanical side effect make death mean something?  I don't know.
Yes, I am an agent of Satan, but my duties are largely ceremonial.

A diplomat... is a person who can tell you to go to hell in such a way that you actually look forward to the trip. - Caskie Stinnett

Adventure is just bad planning. - Roald Amundsen

Fire Wraith

Mechanics based 'death' in NWN honestly should probably just be considered a KO rather than "death", because it happens way too fast in many instances. The PNP rules it's based on allow you time to react to things that in a computer game happen in real time. Tabletop comes down to initiative and choices, whereas in NWN you have to realize that something is happening, click the buttons, and then see the response take place with an overall delay of several rounds (most likely).

This would require a lot of editing though to make it appear that way 100% in the client, which we've never really taken the time to. The bleeding/death system code we use could be rejiggered to allow more leeway, but at the moment probably isn't lenient enough? Maybe we should look at that, mostly toning down the "ignore bleeding because of massive damage" type stuff.
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." -George Bernard Shaw

"So long as you harbor love for this world, ever shall there be a place for you in it. Your adventures will never end."

Fire Wraith