Main Menu

Ask a personal trainer

Started by Kymus, Apr 23, 2016, 07:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kymus

Hi guys :)

For those that don't know, I work as a personal trainer. I also have a strong background in nutrition and my focus area is in weight loss. So, given this, I just wanted to open a thread offering to answer general questions, as health and fitness is a very confusing and contradictory field and there is lots of crankery out there that easily fools the layperson. If you have questions, I have answers!

A bit about my background: I am a board certified personal trainer (NPTI-CPT), board certified as a health coach (HHC), and I am board certified in Swedish massage therapy (CMT), so that means that I've got a good knowledge of anatomy and physiology (massage therapists have to know a ton of stuff about A&P. Right down to the anatomy of the heart. Yeah. Give your massage therapist the respect they deserve; they know way more than just rubbing). So I have funny letters after my name that make me look cool and smart  8-)  .

I am not a doctor, I don't play one on TV, but I'd be happy to take applications for playing doctor (though I prefer nurses TBH) *cough*

Feel free to post questions here (or hit up my inbox if you want). It's spring time and lots of folks are thinking about getting in better shape, but the whole process can be really confusing and even overwhelming.

Kymus

Common questions, answered:

How do I lose weight?

Eat less, move more. Yes, really.

But my friend's uncle's cousin's dog tried that omega detox diet and they lost weight, so what about that Mr. Smartypants?

They ate less and moved more. Countless studies have shown that this is the magic.

What if I like the magic sprinkles diet?

If you're getting adequate nutrition, and you're losing weight, then that's cool.

What do you think about X-diet?